New California Law: Child Safety Seats
Although the child safely seat law was passed in 2015, it did not take effect until January 1, 2017. Depending on your child’s height and age, you may be required to use a federally-approved child passenger restraint system for them.
According to this new law, children under the age of 2 years must ride rear-facing in an appropriate child safety seat. The exception is for children weighing at least 40 pounds, or standing at least 40 inches tall.
California law continues to require that all children under the age of 8 be properly restrained in an appropriate child safety seat in the back seat of a vehicle.
All children in California under 8 years old must:
- Use a child safety seat or booster.
- Ride in the back seat of the vehicle
- A child safety seat cannot be installed safely in the back seat
- The vehicle has no back seats
- Back seats are side-facing
- Back seats face to the rear of the vehicle
All children in California under 2 years old must use a rear-facing child safety seat UNLESS:
- They weigh at least 40 lbs
- They measure at least 40 inches tall
Call us now at 1-877-241-9554 to learn more about your legal options. A free consultation is just a phone call away.