Costa Mesa Car Accident Lawyer
The streets and freeways of Orange County are notoriously overcrowded and rife with daily car accidents. California traffic law can be confusing and leave you overwhelmed. Mounting bills will soon follow, as will increased insurance premiums. Who is going to pay for damage to your car and for the expensive medical bills due to bodily injury? How soon will you be able to go back to work?
You will most assuredly have a lot of questions and will need a lot of professional guidance to understand your rights and the merits of any subsequent case you may file.
YOU may be certain that the accident was not your fault, but what happens if they start accusing you of causing the accident? When you have been involved in a traffic accident and you have exchanged information, what is your next logical step?
Hiring a Personal Injury Attorney in Costa Mesa
Filling out the sea of claim forms and settlement papers can be daunting on your own. Car accident victims often feel alone, shaken up and panic-stricken. You may be tempted to settle for a quick amount just to get the whole incident in your distant memory, but this may not be in your best interest in the long run. Fortunately, calling an attorney is easy and painless!
You need a professional on your side who understands the law and can fight for your rights. An experienced lawyer can answer your questions, investigate the accident and file your paperwork to ensure that your case is properly prepared and filed within the time limit required by the court. Your initial consultation will allow your attorney to review your case and determine whether or not you are entitled to compensation for damages.
Filing a Lawsuit in Costa Mesa, California
As you can probably imagine, personal injury lawsuits can be exhausting and time consuming. Without an expert attorney, you may find the process strenuous and overwhelming, especially when the other party or insurance company is armed with a team of lawyers on their side.
Without a complete knowledge of the complexities of traffic law and statute of limitations for filing a lawsuit, your case could be over before you even enter a courtroom. Your attorney knows the timeline required as well as how to fill out and file the extensive paperwork a lawsuit includes. Too many victims of car accidents are unable to collect the damages they deserve because the paperwork was filed too late or documents were improperly filled out or missing altogether. Don’t let this happen to you!
Shared Fault Laws in California
California traffic law includes a clause for Shared Fault claims. The courts can find that you are partially to blame for the accident if the defendant in your case argues that both parties are at fault. A lawyer can explain this clause and the possible implications that may effect the amount of compensation you receive.
Example of Shared Fault Claim:
Let’s assume that the driver who hit your car ran a stop sign. Let’s also assume that you were driving 10 miles over the posted speed limit. The lawyer for the other party might argue that you take on a percentage of the blame for the accident. If the court rules you to be 10% at fault for the accident, your lawsuit for $30,000 in damages to your car and person may be reduced to $27,000 once your fault is subtracted.
Financial Limits for California Lawsuits
Oftentimes there are exceptions to the rules that you might qualify for but not even know about. An attorney can find these exceptions to ensure that you receive the compensation you are entitled to.
For example, California law places limits on financial gains for certain types of damage. An uninsured driver may not be eligible to collect the full compensation that those who have insurance may be entitled to. Damages such as pain and suffering, that does not have a determinable monetary amount to award, may not be awarded to an uninsured driver under California law.
In the end, your personal injury attorney is your biggest advocate in court. At the Costa Mesa Law Offices of Brent A. Duque, we employ a staff of a highly professional, knowledgeable, dynamic and successful car accident attorneys who represent injured people through our offices that stretch across Southern California. Time limitations apply to any injury claim you might have, so for purposes of investigating a possible case and possibly preserving evidence, it’s best for you to contact us immediately after an accident.
Contact our Orange County Personal Injury Attorneys at 1-877-241-9554 to learn more about your legal options. A free consultation is just a phone call away. You can even use our online contact form, and we’ll reply to you quickly.