Riverside County Car Accident Lawyer
Car accidents can happen in a fraction of a second on the busy streets of Riverside County. California traffic law can be daunting and leave you shocked and confused. Bodily injury and damage to your vehicle produce mounting bills and increased insurance premiums. Who is going to pay for damage to your car? How will you pay for the expensive medical bills? How long will you be out of work?
Questions! Questions! Questions! You will have a lot of them and you are going to need a lot of expert advice and guidance to trek your way through them all.
While you may be certain that the accident was not your fault, the other party can claim differently. If they do, you will likely face a scenario where it is your word against theirs. Once the accident has happened and you’ve exchanged information, what do you do next?
Hiring a Personal Injury Attorney in Riverside County
Coping with all the claim forms and settlements can be immensely difficult on your own. After an auto accident, victims can feel alone, confused and devastated. Many are tempted to settle for a quick amount just to get the whole incident behind them, but this may not be best in the long run. Fortunately, calling an attorney is easy and painless!
During this unfortunate time, you need someone on your side who knows the law and can fight to protect your rights. An experienced attorney can answer your questions, investigate the accident and file your paperwork to ensure that your case is properly prepared and filed within the time limit required by the court.
Filing a Lawsuit in Riverside County, California
Unfortunately, personal injury lawsuits are tedious and time-consuming. Without the experience and knowledge of a skilled attorney, you may find the process daunting and overwhelming, especially since the other party or insurance company will come armed with a team of attorneys on their side.
Many people are unaware of the many intricacies of traffic law. The statute of limitations for filing a lawsuit can determine your case before you even enter a courtroom. Your attorney knows the timeline required as well as how to fill out and file the mountain of paperwork a lawsuit includes. Too many car accident victims are unable to collect all of the damages they deserve because the paperwork was filed too late or documents were improperly filled out or missing altogether. Don’t let this happen to you!
Shared Fault Laws in California
Within California traffic law, a clause for Shared Fault claims has been added. The courts can actually rule that you are partially to blame for the accident. A lawyer can explain this clause and the possible implications that may effect the amount of compensation you receive.
Example of Shared Fault Claim:
Let’s assume that the defendant who hit your car ran a stop sign. Let’s also assume that you were driving 10 miles over the posted speed limit. The attorney for the other party might argue that you take on a percentage of the blame. If the court finds you to be 10% at fault for the accident, your lawsuit for $20,000 in damages to your car and person may be reduced to $18,000 once your fault is subtracted.
Financial Limits for California Lawsuits
There are often exceptions to the rules that you may qualify for but not even know about. An attorney can find these exceptions to ensure that you receive the compensation you are entitled to.
For example, California law places limits on financial gains for certain types of damage. An uninsured driver may not be eligible to collect the full compensation that an insured driver may be entitled to. Damages such as pain and suffering, that lack a specific monetary amount, may not be awarded to an uninsured driver under California law.
During this turbulent time, your personal injury attorney is your most cherished advocate in court. At the Riverside County Law Offices of Brent A. Duque, we maintain a staff of a highly professional, knowledgeable, aggressive and successful car accident attorneys who represent injured people through our offices that stretch across Southern California. Time limitations apply to any injury claim you might have, so for purposes of investigating a possible case and possibly preserving evidence, it’s best for you to contact us immediately after an accident.
Contact the Riverside County law office of Brent A. Duque at 877-241-9554 for a free consultation and case evaluation. You can even use our online contact form, and we’ll reply to you quickly.