Hemet Car Accident Lawyer
A traffic accident can happen in an instant on the streets of Hemet and California traffic law can be confusing and leave you stressed out. Damage to yourself and vehicle will ultimately leave you with mounting bills and increased insurance premiums. Who is going to pay for the repairs on your car? Who is responsible for paying the expensive medical bills? When can you go back to work?
What should you do if the other party start accusing you of causing the accident? You may know that the accident was not your fault, but if the other party claims differently, you can be faced with a he said/she said scenario. Once the accident has happened and you’ve exchanged information, what do you do next?
Hiring a Personal Injury Attorney in Hemet
Filling out the mountain of the claim forms and settlements can be daunting on your own. After an auto accident, victims can feel isolated and desperate. You may be tempted to accept the quick settlement just to put the whole incident behind you, but this may not be in your best interest in the long run. Fortunately, a knowledgeable attorney is just a phone call away!
You need experience on your side when fighting for your rights. An seasoned attorney can investigate the accident, answer your questions and file your paperwork to ensure that your case is properly prepared and filed within the time limit required by law. Your initial consultation will allow your lawyer to review your case and determine whether or not you are entitled to compensation for damages.
Filing a Lawsuit in Hemet, California
Unfortunately, personal injury cases tend to be time-consuming and very detailed. Without an attorney on your side, you may find the process bewildering, especially when the other party or insurance company is armed with a team of attorneys on their side.
Without a thorough knowledge of the intricacies of California traffic law and statute of limitations for filing a case, your lawsuit could be over before you even enter a courtroom. Your attorney knows the timeline required as well as how to fill out and file the extensive paperwork a lawsuit includes. Too many victims of car accidents are unable to collect the damages they deserve because the paperwork was filed too late or documents were improperly filled out or missing altogether. Don’t let this happen to you!
Shared Fault Laws in California
California traffic law includes a clause for Shared Fault claims. The courts can actually rule that you are partially to blame for the accident if the defendent in your case argues that both parties are at fault. A lawyer can explain this clause and the possible implications that may effect the amount of compensation you receive.
Example of Shared Fault Claim:
Let’s assume for purposes of this example that the person who hit your car ran a stop sign. Let’s also assume that you were driving 10 miles over the posted speed limit. The attorney for the other party might argue that you take on a percentage of the blame. If the court finds you to be 10% at fault for the accident, your lawsuit for $20,000 in damages to your car and person may be reduced to $18,000 once your fault is subtracted.
Financial Limits for California Lawsuits
There are often exceptions to the rules that you may qualify for but not even know about. An attorney can find these exceptions to ensure that you receive the full compensation you are entitled to.
For example, California law places limits on financial gains for certain types of damage. An uninsured driver may not be eligible to collect the full compensation that those who have insurance may be entitled to. Damages such as pain and suffering, that does not have a determinable monetary amount to award, may not be awarded to an uninsured driver under California law.
In the end, your personal injury attorney is your most powerful ally in court. At the Law Offices of Brent A. Duque, we maintain a staff of a highly professional, knowledgeable, dynamic and successful car accident attorneys who represent injured people through our offices that stretch across Southern California. Time limitations apply to any injury claim you might have, so for purposes of investigating a possible case and possibly preserving evidence, it’s best for you to contact us immediately after an accident.
Contact our Riverside County Personal Injury Attorney at 1-877-241-9554 to learn more about your legal options. A free consultation is just a phone call away. You can even use our online contact form, and we’ll reply to you quickly.