Moreno Valley Car Accident Lawyer
Traffic accidents can happen within seconds on the busy streets of Moreno Valley. California traffic law can be confusing on your own and can leave you stunned and overwhelmed. Bodily injury and damage to your vehicle produce visions of escalating bills and increased insurance premiums. Who is going to pay for damage to your car? How will you pay for the expensive medical bills? How soon can you go back to work?
Questions! Questions! Questions! You will have a lot of them and you are going to need a lot of expert advice to trek your way through them all.
What happens if they start accusing you of causing the accident? You may know that the accident was not your fault, but if the other party claims differently and you can be faced with a he said/she said scenario. Once the accident has happened and you’ve exchanged information, what do you do next?
Hiring a Personal Injury Attorney in Moreno Valley
Filing all the claim forms and settlements can be daunting on your own. After an auto accident, victims can feel alone, confused and desperate. You may be tempted to settle for a quick amount just to get the whole incident in your distant memory, but this may not be in your best interest in the long run. Fortunately, calling an attorney is easy and painless!
You need someone on your side who understands the law and can fight for your rights. An experienced attorney can answer your questions, investigate the accident and file your paperwork to ensure that your case is properly prepared and filed within the time limit required by the court. Your initial consultation will allow your attorney to review your case and determine whether or not you are entitled to compensation for damages.
Filing a Lawsuit in Moreno Valley, California
Unfortunately, personal injury lawsuits can be tedious and time-consuming. Without an experienced attorney, you may find the process daunting and overwhelming, especially when the other party or insurance company is armed with a team of attorneys on their side.
Many people are unaware of the intricacies of traffic law. Statute of limitations for filing a lawsuit can make or break your case before you even enter a courtroom. Your attorney knows the timeline required as well as how to fill out and file the extensive paperwork a lawsuit includes. Too many victims of car accidents are unable to collect the damages they deserve because the paperwork was filed too late or documents were improperly filled out or missing altogether. Don’t let this happen to you!
Shared Fault Laws in California
California traffic law includes a clause for Shared Fault claims. The courts can actually rule that you are also to blame for the accident if the defendent in your case argues that both parties are at fault. A lawyer can explain this clause and the possible implications that may effect the amount of compensation you receive.
Example of Shared Fault Claim:
Let’s assume that the defendant who hit your car ran a stop sign. Let’s also assume that you were driving 10 miles over the posted speed limit. The attorney for the other party might argue that you take on a percentage of the blame. If the court finds you to be 10% at fault for the accident, your lawsuit for $20,000 in damages to your car and person may be reduced to $18,000 once your fault is subtracted.
Financial Limits for California Lawsuits
There are often exceptions to the rules that you may qualify for but not even know about. An attorney can find these exceptions to ensure that you receive the compensation you are entitled to.
For instance, California law places limits on financial gains for certain types of damage. An uninsured driver may not be eligible to collect the full compensation that those who have insurance may be entitled to. Damages such as pain and suffering, that does not have a determinable monetary amount to award, may not be awarded to an uninsured driver under California law.
In the end, your personal injury attorney is your greatest advocate in court. At the Moreno Valley Law Offices of Brent A. Duque, we maintain a staff of a highly professional, knowledgeable, aggressive and successful car accident attorneys who represent injured people through our offices that stretch across Southern California. Time limitations apply to any injury claim you might have, so for purposes of investigating a possible case and possibly preserving evidence, it’s best for you to contact us immediately after an accident.
Contact our Riverside County Personal Injury Attorneys at 1-877-241-9554 to learn more about your legal options. A free consultation is just a phone call away. You can even use our online contact form, and we’ll reply to you quickly.