Riverside Law Office
11801 Pierce Street, Suite 200
Riverside CA 92505
| Duque Law
Car accidents happen every day throughout Riverside, and yet so many Californians are unprepared to deal with them. Fortunately, calling an attorney is an option for all those victims suffering from serious, long-term injuries resulting from these accidents. When all the questions and legal matters leave your head spinning, relying on an attorney can be a great reprieve.
Let’s say that you’re heading down the road on a Friday morning. You’ve just dropped the kids off at school and now you’re heading to work at a local factory. Suddenly, another driver runs a stop sign, crashing right into the side of your car. You are left stunned, injured and with a car that simply won’t run.
Once the accident has happened and you’ve exchanged information, you are stuck with a number of looming questions. They’re accusing you of causing the accident in spite of the fact that you know you had the right of way. You are instantly overwhelmed with new issues. Who is going to pay for damage to your car? How will you pay for those medical bills? Will you be able to get back to work soon? This is where a lawyer comes in.
Coping with all those claims and settlements can be intensely difficult on your own, but who knows the law better than a personal injury attorney? Not only can your attorney answer all those pressing questions, but they can also advise you of your limits as well as how long you have to file a lawsuit. It’s time to stop wondering and start knowing by getting a lawyer immediately after an accident.
One of the most helpful things a personal injury attorney can do for you is file a lawsuit on your behalf, typically against an individual or an insurance company. Unfortunately, personal injury lawsuits can be tedious and time consuming. Without an attorney, you may find the daunting process overwhelming.
There are plenty of examples of cases in which deserving victims of car accidents were unable to collect compensation. For instance, California laws include a statute of limitations for injured parties two years after an accident. This means that you have only two years after a car accident to file a lawsuit. The statute of limitations is even shorter in the event that you are filing a claim against a government agency — just six months.
It is also wise to speak with your lawyer about shared fault laws, which are actually quite relevant to California car accidents. It is extremely possible that the defendant in your case will argue that you are also to blame for the accident, and California law could agree that some of the liability rests on your shoulders. This can severely affect the amount of compensation you receive.
Perhaps the defendant did run the stop sign, but you were also driving 10 miles over the posted speed limit. You may take on a percentage of the blame. Perhaps you are found to be 10% at fault for the accident. If you filed a lawsuit for $20,000 in damages to your car and person, you would receive $18,000 once your fault is subtracted.
California places limits on financial gains for certain types of damage. One of the best examples in the case of an uninsured driver. Uninsured drivers are not eligible to collect as much money as those who do have insurance, especially when it comes to non-economic damages like pain and suffering. Exceptions are often made in cases where the other driver was convicted of a DUI while causing the accident.
This is yet another good reason to have an attorney look over your case. There are often exceptions to the rules that you may qualify for. Additionally, your personal injury lawyer will ensure that you are asking for the compensation that you deserve. You are not in charge of researching legal loopholes. Your job is to recover gracefully, and that’s hard enough on its own.
In the end, your personal injury attorney is your advocate in court. Our offices offer the assistance you need when you are trying to cope with a car accident. There is no need to worry yourself with the specifics of the law when we can do it for you.
When you’re in a car accident, it’s important to know what to do–as well as what not to do–both at the scene of the accident and in the days, weeks, and months following your accident. You’re very likely shaken up and scrambling after a car accident, the following guidelines can help protect your legal rights after your accident and increase your chances of a favorable personal injury settlement for your car accident claim.
At the Car Accident Scene
Here is a quick reference list of what to do if possible:
After Your Accident
After your car wreck in, it is critical to obtain a copy of the car accident police report that was filled out by the officer that responded to the scene of the accident. A police report is often one of the most important pieces of evidence in a car wreck case.
Getting a copy of the police report for your car wreck is a relatively simple process. After your wreck, be sure to call the police to have someone come to the scene of the accident. The responding officer should give you a receipt that includes an identification number. To obtain your police report, you’ll just need to call the local police department and provide the number. If you weren’t given a receipt, or if you’ve misplaced the receipt, you can also get a copy of your police report by providing the date, time, and location of your car wreck.
There may be a small fee required to obtain your report but don’t let that put you off–this document can be invaluable when it comes to proving fault in your car wreck and recovering the compensation you deserve.
After a car wreck, the importance of a police report can’t be understated. The accident report is the “official” version of what happened during your accident, often stating who is to blame for the wreck, and is one of the key pieces of evidence that an insurance company relies on when determining fault and issuing compensation for your injuries. As such, a police report is one of the first things that an insurance company will look at to conduct its investigation of who was at fault in your car wreck. Without this document, a car accident claim will be incomplete, and can result in an offensively low settlement offer, or even an outright denial of your claim.
A police report is filled out by the officer who responds to the scene of the accident, and provides a summary of the officer’s investigation of the accident. This report contains all of the relevant details about your car wreck, including:
Contact our Riverside County Personal Injury Attorney at 1-877-241-9554 to learn more about your legal options. A free consultation is just a phone call away. You can even use our online contact form, and we’ll reply to you quickly.